Adorable Iron

You might not generally think of the words “adorable” and “iron” in the same sentence, but when the iron in question is only a few inches long and about 150 years old…well, maybe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This sad iron is an Enterprise 115 and was patented in 1877.  The bottom is smooth and shows some signs of starch as if it were used.  It came in a box of miscellany from a woman in town who died and the family just wanted stuff cleaned out…it would have gone in the trash.

How many hands has this iron passed through?  Was it used by children?  For doll clothes?  For tiny details like pleats?

What stories it could tell!

10 thoughts on “Adorable Iron

  1. I love irons like that! At a younger age, I had a small collection, but they are hard to come by now. It’s more decorative looking than most I’ve seen, and it sounds smaller than the usual hot iron. What a treasure for you! Good it went to someone who could appreciate it. =)

  2. Good rescue. “Adorable” and “iron” go together when I don’t have to iron with it. Those old ones do have style. I have an old gasoline iron that I think is gorgeous. Can’t imagine using it. I had meant to start a collection–maybe it is a good thing I didn’t.

  3. In the trash ?!! That would of been a disaster. Neat little iron. I can’t imagine trying to learn to use one of those old irons…. I wonder how many times I would have left scorch marks!!

  4. I’m so glad you were in the right place at the right time and rescued this wonderful piece of history. So adorable. Thanks for sharing . It reminds me of the Petite Press mini iron of today. Once, these non-electric irons, larger of course, were all we had.

  5. I have 3 sad irons…passed down thru the family…I can remember my mother using one at my grand dad’s house as he had no electricity…she didn’t have any trouble using it—had 2 of them ..used one while the other one was on the back of the cookstove—wood—heating…at the time I just thought it was normal…I’ve never used one ..I used to take in ironings and am glad I had an electric one at the time and didn’t have to use one of the heavy sad irons…

  6. When I grew up in the Shaker’s in Maine, that is all they had. From the little like you have to the bigger ones. I never used one because as a child I couldn’t lift them. They have some in their museum in Maine now. I am very glad you rescued this little Sad iron. It would have been a shame to just throw it away and loose all that history. Thank you for caring and not just tossing it aside.

  7. I love all things old like this. I have one that my Grandmother used, not a fancy as yours but love it.

  8. I am not an expert on irons but I never saw one of those with a metal handle. The ones that I’ve seen have wooden ones that detach. I have collected a few irons. The top opens on one and you put charcoal in it. Can you imagine?

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

