Hundred Patch Update

I mentioned at the beginning of the year that I was going to piece a Hundred Patch quilt out of 1-1/2″ squares.  It has been my primary leader-ender project since the beginning of February and I am pleased and surprised to report that I have 17 blocks finished.  Who knew?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, don’t get too excited because that is not even half way finished.  To make a queen size quilt I need 36 blocks.  And the borders use a lot of squares.  I believe the quilt will contain 5472 squares when complete.

But, I am really happy at how it is coming along.  I have plenty of 1-1/2″ squares and cut a few from leftovers as I am working on other sizes.  No danger there.

If you have considered making one of these small squares patterns, don’t put it off.  Just get a pile of squares, set them next to your machine and use them as you have a moment.  Stitching together a few a day adds up quickly.  I doubt my project will be finished this year, but sometime during 2016 I will look up and realize it is ready to assemble.  Wow, what an exciting day that will be.  Until then, just keep stitching…

10 thoughts on “Hundred Patch Update

  1. wowowow!!! I will have to do that…I have a project I am using for leader/enders but it is just about done…I have a lot of squares cut…I love the pattern…

  2. ps – I just clicked your link and saw your beautiful quilt from 2011, so I’m presuming you will do something like that one 🙂

  3. Leaders and enders, the only way to go!! That’s how I pieced my Calico Rose quilt. What a surprise when you realize how many blocks you’ve done. Your blocks are pretty. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I keep 1 1/2 inch squares next to my machine and I am making 9 patches. They are 3 1/2 inches finished. I have 20 so far. I like this idea though because I would not have to worry about colour combinations.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

