Aitch

This little quilt is called Aitch (“H”) in honor of Husband who rescued it.  He was cleaning out a house and found sad and abandoned pieces.  “Could this make a quilt for your project?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I guess it could.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is actually a cute block pattern that just happens to be sort of H-shaped.  Hmmm…is there such a thing as coincidence?  I don’t really think so myself.  In our house we refer to them as “tender mercies.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Lord is good to all: and his tender mercies are over all his works. Psalms 145:9

*** UPDATE ***

By request, here are the measurements so you can make an Aitch of your very own.

1. Center:  3-1/2″ x 5″

2. Short side pieces:  2″ x 5″

3. Long side pieces:  2″ x 6-1/2″

Finished block size is 6″ x 7″. This quilt has 24 blocks and finishes at about 28″ x 36″.  If I were making it myself I would go 30 blocks and a finished size of 35″ x 36″.

7 thoughts on “Aitch

  1. I really, really, REALLY like those blocks. Is this one of your 52? I may have to make some blocks with plaid scraps of the shirts I have cut up.

  2. This litle quilt has one of the most poignant stories I’ve heard. I love it! You need to keep this little quiltie close by ..

  3. My SIL was born in Aitch, PA, so that’s the first thing that came to mind when I saw the name! Since Raystown Lake was built, Aitch is no more…. Love your quilt!!!

  4. Amen to that one girl. All fabric whether large or small needs love by someone. Yeah to your hubby for rescuing this one. You are right. It does look like H’s. Is this one of the 52? Love Psalm 142:9. I also love Proverbs, especially 3:5-6.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

