Summer 1964–Now THAT’S A UFO

In one of the recent house cleanouts, I found a lovely bundle of fabric–Linen and butterflies.  How could I leave it?  It was so very pretty I set it aside, hoping there would be enough there to make something.

This last week I got the bundle out and unrolled it.  It had been cut, but the pattern pieces (not the pattern package) were still there.

A brief internet search showed me that Simplicity 5409 was this dress. Publication date 1964.

It was in a size I was certain would fit Daughter.  So, nothing to do but sew it up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ta-dah!  A lovely summer shift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Only 51 years in the making.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to add some darts to better fit Daughter’s shape, but overall I think the effect is lovely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

UFO no more!

12 thoughts on “Summer 1964–Now THAT’S A UFO

  1. That is a beautiful young lady and the dress is wonderful. Good for you making something that was there for so long waiting to be worn!

  2. That made a lovely current looking dress and you were so smart to look up what the pattern was. And I also think you won with the oldest UFO, imagine that 51 years. (ah hummm… but at the rate I’m going I’ll be having some as old myself unless I get myself better focused.!) lol

  3. Wow! That UFO beats even mine. My oldest is about 45 years old. I made a dress similar, if not the same, at high school.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

