Mixed Blessings

For a long time I have thought about making a quilt using multiple sizes of small squares.  This isn’t what I had in mind originally, but it does use variety and has its own appeal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meet Mixed Blessings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am not doing a full tutorial, but here is my original sketch that you can use as a guide should you want to mix your own blessings. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It finished up just fine and someone who loves orange will enjoy this iteration for their baby, I’m sure.

20 thoughts on “Mixed Blessings

  1. Actually, I like that very much and I may at least take the idea to my variety of squares and see what can be done. This is a great baby quilt, and a great leader-ender, too. Thanks for the idea. I hope to see where you were originally going, sometime.

  2. I love the colors and the different size squares…when I get my glasses and can see better I wouldn’t mind trying that using up squares that I have..and I have lots of them…my second youngest grandson would love it as orange is his favorite color..

  3. Thats lovely and so simple. Good way to use up all those scraps that you cut into various squares to use one day.

  4. Cute, I just finished a 9 patch and a snowball baby quilt, such fun to make with dinosaur material left over and the snowball interior left over material as well. It is much loved by the one year old grandchild, carried it everywhere and won’t let it go and takes it back to her cot!
    Thanks to you I made it really nice, I don’t think I could’ve done it on my own but you showed me how! Thank you so much! Tina

  5. I’m really attracted to this–may keep this in mind for the future. I made a Trail Mix quilt earlier this year, and your four-patches and all the smaller squares reminds me of working on my Trail Mix, which I had so much fun doing. I have some extra pieces left from that, which could give me a head-start on your pattern.
    Thanks

  6. Oh yeah. Have lots of 1 1/2″ and 2 1/2″ squares. Just have to cut the bigger ones and I’m good to go. Great pattern as always!

  7. What a lovely bright quilt. I’ve been looking at my “orphan block” box with something like this in mind, but I really need to finish up some other projects first.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

