Dreaming Quilts

Monday morning I woke up with a quilt in my head.  I made my way downstairs and drew it out in my sketchbook, quickly, before it could be lost.  (very realistic, not very glamorous picture follows)

Each square is 2 inches.
Each square is 2 inches.

Do you ever do that?

It was a busy week, so the making of the quilt had to wait until this weekend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But now it is a top. Pretty much like I dreamed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like it when that happens.

ps–The quilt finishes at 36″ square.  Each strip is 2-1/2″ wide to start (finished at 2″).

22 thoughts on “Dreaming Quilts

  1. That is just adorable!!!! I love your fabrics and their placement. I love, love, love this pattern!!!!! Lots of bang for your buck. I think 4 of these joined would be a spectacular large quilt!!

  2. When I had the quilting business, I would wake up all the time with an idea for how to quilt someone’s quilt. I had a great amount of help from the spirit on those things! I love this top. It would be super with any of the quilt block sets I get which don’t really fit with a lot of others. Thanks for the idea! Are you doing a tutorial on how the strips go most efficiently?

    1. I am glad you like the dream quilt. I might get to a tutorial after the first of the year, but for now the diagram is the best I can do. When I did the final assembly there were 2 partial seams, but that was all. Not too bad.

  3. I get ideas for quilts often, some I sketch out and others I sit down and start sewing. Many make it through to a finished top, but others get interrupted by another idea.
    Your turned out wonderful. Well done.

  4. It is gorgeous. I love bold colors & interesting designs that aren’t of the normal systematic way they are put together. Love this, God is so good, this is just another of His fine example of the odd thing that is so gorgeous. Wow. I adore the way the squares are different sizes & off set the way you have them. Great job & wonderful fabrics you picked for this one. The colors are so well balanced & I love the overlapped look of the larger squares. That little stripe goes so well in this. I just love it, everything about it. JOB WELL DONE!!!!

  5. Okay, write the tutorial for this size, we can figure out how to enlarge it ourselves & see what happy surprises we can come up with. lol Will be waiting. lol

    On Sun, Nov 8, 2015 at 7:25 PM, Barbara Black wrote:

    > It is gorgeous. I love bold colors & interesting designs that aren’t of > the normal systematic way they are put together. Love this, God is so > good, this is just another of His fine example of the odd thing that is so > gorgeous. Wow. > I adore the way the squares are different sizes & off set the way you have > them. Great job & wonderful fabrics you picked for this one. The colors > are so well balanced & I love the overlapped look of the larger squares. > That little stripe goes so well in this. I just love it, everything about > it. JOB WELL DONE!!!! > > > > On Sun, Nov 8, 2015 at 9:16 AM, Wedding Dress Blue <

  6. I LOVE IT! When I was looking at it I saw log cabins with stars… If you haven’t named it yet, “Stars at the Cabin” -or- “Stars in the woods”… I never can come up with a name for quilts, until I saw this one!
    BEAUTIFUL as usual!

  7. Beautiful! I love the placement of the blocks . I’m glad you were able to make the vision a reality great job!!

  8. I do like the idea of this and you executed it beautifully. I’ve been thinking of using a similar format to set some gorgeous fabrics I bought last spring. I have 3 or 4 amazing African fat quarters, with prints too large to cut small and keep the effect. So I’ve been mulling it over for some time. This helps me picture the idea better, so thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

