TUTORIAL: The K-Quilt

This quilt was designed for two different babies, so we have already made it twice with two really different looks.  I don’t have step-by-step pictures, so this is more like a general guide, but I do hope you’ll like the results!

K-QUILT TUTORIAL

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finished size approximately 39″ x 49″

MATERIALS/CUTTING DIRECTIONS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

109 4″ assorted squares of all the beautiful colors

40 4″ squares background (for stars)

20 4-1/2″ squares, cut on the diagonal (for star points)

5 4″ squares (for star centers)

1-1/2 yards WOF for back

1/3 yard WOF for binding (cut at 2-1/4″)

CONSTRUCTION

  1. You will build 5 star blocks using the background and star fabrics listed above.  I followed THIS TUTORIAL for the stars themselves.  They will seem a little awkward at first, but the result is worth it. NOTE:  The tutorial uses 5″ squares, but it works just fine with the changed dimensions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Lay out the quilt in a pattern 11 blocks wide and 14 blocks high.  Note the placement of the stars.  Now you can see the reason it is called a “K-quilt.”  See the constellation?  The family name of the baby it was designed for begins with a K.  I try to sneak special messages into quilts when I can.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. Assembly is a little tricky, but if you build chunks you can join them together with no partial seams.  Here is one suggestion from my lovely sketched plan for the quilt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Ta-dah!  You have a finished top.  Now just quilt and bind and it is a completed quilty item.  I used a spiral done free-hand on my grandmother’s faithful Pfaff 130.  Not fancy, but it gets the job done.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5. Here is a glance at the back.  The fabric was printed by Cranston Print Works in 2007.  I don’t know the line.  But I love it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

K-QUILT GALLERY

Sparkle Jane was commissioned to make a baby quilt and decided to use this pattern, too.  What a difference a color scheme makes!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…your beautiful creation HERE

7 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: The K-Quilt

  1. thanks for another great way to put stars together and join into a quilt. your little hand drawing sent off a light bulb in my head. I’m so knew at this quilting thing. all your tips are helpful. have a blessed day.

  2. I like them both! Thanks so much for taking the time to post this. I like the name, too. It’s funny how my view changes thinking of it as a k instead of just stars! I liked it either way, but it looks different to me now. =)

  3. Thank you for another fun quilt pattern – baby quilts are always in demand around here and this design is so versatile. I can even see enlarging it and making it for a QOV.

      1. Thank you so for this cute quilt pattern! I’m using my scraps from previous quilts.

  4. I love this pattern. I made one using this pattern and scraps. It is beautiful. I quilted around the stars and quilted the blocks by stitching in the ditch.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

