Happy Accident

As I continue to clean and dig I keep coming across old projects.  Today it was this little tin of 1-1/2″ squares with a snowball block on top.  With a square in the middle.  I think it was leftovers from an old project of Daughter’s.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But, the more I looked at it I thought, “That would make a really attractive scrappy block.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, I tried one.  Somehow in my mind the scale was off (seam allowances) and I turned it the wrong way.  Whoops!  I don’t like this look nearly as much.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the second try.  Much more successful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking at it beside the inspiration piece, you can start to see how it will look.  I think I like it!  Let’s call it Happy Accident.

9 thoughts on “Happy Accident

      1. I would greatly appreciate a tutorial. My brains are so full these days.
        It is good to get the inspiration and instructions from you!

  1. I have a lot of scraps. And a lot of 1 1/2″ wide strips. You have given me another idea. Love it. Your too clever girl. This will be 27 on my list to do. Sigh!! Yes I keep a list of all I want to do. This will make a great quilt for the Indian tribe here in Maine. We try to do a few each year for them.

  2. Ohhhhh this is very cute. Wowie.
    With all of these bright colors this could be a very cute little quiltie
    Thank you so much for sharing this!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

