Four Days

Last night, Sunday, I returned from a four day trip out of state ALONE to visit my parents.  It was just the three of us and I had a lovely time: chatting, working and generally enjoying the company.

As I reflect on the trip I realize that it has been four days since I last touched my sewing machine.  That doesn’t happen very often.  The last time was when I had pneumonia two years ago.

Today should bring some sewing time and get my world back in balance.  What about you?  Do you sew daily?  What happens when you miss your regular schedule?

7 thoughts on “Four Days

  1. Your trip sounds wonderful. I often go much longer than I would like without doing any personal sewing. It’s hard to make time during the week, but I always try to do at least a little bit on the weekends. The best weekends are the ones where I can hole up and do nothing but sew!

  2. Glad you had a good visit with your parents. I treasure my trips out of state to see mine. It’s really hard for me to get motivated during the summer and I sew more in short segments and not always every day. I don’t accomplish much when it’s hot. I tend to get re-energized when we start getting our fall weather. Started working on a simple little runner project last night from one of the Row by Row shops and can’t wait to get back to it. Maybe it’s just what I needed to “get back in the groove” of sewing.

  3. I do sew almost every day, and I’m grumpy when I don’t. LOL I wondered how long it was since you had been alone on a trip. Sometimes I just need that time alone, in the car or among strangers in an airport. I’m glad you had a great visit with your parents! I absolutely know they were thrilled to see you.

  4. I do sew, a lot! And get uptight when I’m gone for awhile. Glad you had that precious time with your parents. Mine have been gone for decades now. Now that I’m grown up I would risk being uptight, just to give them hugs once again!

  5. I am so glad that you had a nice time with your parents. It is so important to them and to you to keep the bond.
    I have not touched my sewing machine hardly at all this summer. I am in a slump. No desire.
    My hubby and my daughter have been very ill all summer. Hubby just got out of the hospital last Monday. Was in for 8 days. Almost lost him. Yes it was that serious.
    Brought daughter to the “VA” emergency room last night. She hasn’t been feeling well for about a month or more. Well good reason. She has Lyme disease. So she is on meds for that now. Hubby is facing 2 surgeries this fall. Spine and hip replacement.
    Daughter is facing 3 also. Gastric By-Pass and also a hip replacement and possible back surgery..
    So as we prepare for those I am trying to keep it together. Which at 74 is not so easy.
    Sewing? Don’t know when we (my machine & I ) will be getting together. Soon I hope.. So happy sewing girl. At least I will enjoy your efforts. They always brighten my day. ;))

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

