THE Hundred Patch Quilt

Nearly three years ago I got the notion that I  could take my standard Hundred Patch quilt and change the scale.  Instead of basing it on 2″ squares, why not 1-1/2″?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It turns out that there are probably several reasons why not, but I forged ahead anyway.  I knew I would need A LOT of 1-1/2″ squares, so I made a point of cutting scrap nearly daily for a year.  That way I had a good supply built up.  Many of the pieces of fabric were very small, but they were enough and over time the box was looking good.

2015-02-07 16.09.49

February 2015 was my start date for piecing.  As some of you know, last year was the year of baby quilts around here, but this got a lot of sewing time anyway as my leader-ender.  Just put some squares next to my machine and rarely leave a needle empty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

April 2016 saw a finished top, only 14 months in the making.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It look a while to find the perfect back, get it to the quilter and get it home again. Waiting was hard.  I felt like a piece of myself (or, rather, 5700+ pieces of myself) was missing.  We have been together for a long time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But now it is finished and I am so pleased.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is hard to photograph due to size and sun and dirt and all the things that are reality in our lives.  But, here it is.  Thank you to all who have followed and supported this journey.  Scrappy happy!

30 thoughts on “THE Hundred Patch Quilt

  1. It’s wonderful. …..love the pattern in the middle of the blocks. Congratulations on a great finish. 

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  2. I shall miss you blogging about this quilt, haha – it’s a beauty and I love the butterfly backing – is it flying away or yours for keeps? Well done on an excellent job 🙂

  3. I am still working on my Film quilt but I love your 100 Patch. Do I dare put in on my to-do list? Thanks for sharing!

  4. It’s beautiful! What was the final size with the change to 1.5″ squares? I’m planning a 100 patch but I have a whole drawer of 2′ strips so I think I’ll start there!

  5. This is excellent! Well done, beautifully made.
    This you can be super happy about. What a treasure, Deanna. A really treasure

  6. This is truly a work of art or should I say heart. I really think you put your whole heart into making this quilt.It is beautiful!

  7. Wow! I am impressed. Never and I repeat never will it ever exist in my home. Not a happening event. You have courage girl. BEAUTIFUL!

  8. Wow, what a great quilt! And big! I’m thinking your quilter was wondering if it was growing on the frame before she completed it! Thank you for sharing. Now what is next?

  9. That is just fabulous, fantastic, phenomenal !!!! You should be very proud and happy. CONGRATULATIONS !!

  10. I love the backing you found! It’s beautiful and will look terrific on the bed. Your quilter did a great job, too. That was a labor of love for a long time!

  11. What a wonderful accomplishment. This is such a beautiful quilt. Love the added scrappy border around each block. Beautiful backing and quilting. A real treasure!

  12. Perseverance pays off! It is gorgeous! Much more patience than I would have to accomplish one of that magnitude, love the way it all came together

  13. Congratulations!! Your quilt is really beautiful and something to be proud of. Enjoyed hearing about your journey. :o)

  14. Perfectly Charming! Boy, what I know about you after following and seeing this finished…a creative, dedicated, inspiring person…one of integrity, encouragement, mindfulness, warmth and honour…I am glad to have found this site. I am blessed to have your visions to look forward to. Thank You! Quilts reveal a lot about their makers!!!

  15. What a beauty. Definitely a project to take one’s time on. I am working on a 10,000 piece postage stamp quilt and it is a long term project. Working with 1.5″ squares is a joy for me. So glad you decided to take the journey and create this beauty.

    tushay3 (at) yahoo (dot) com

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

