Fancy Forest Finished

The Fancy Forest baby quilt came back from the quilters and I immediately had to get a binding on it.  That baby was born July 5 and he isn’t getting any smaller.  This quilty hug needs to be finished and in the mail as soon as possible.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Building it was so much fun and finishing it is very satisfying.  This is a different style of piecing for me and I would recommend the experience.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The blue hedgehog and the green firefly are probably my favorites and they are next to each other in the quilt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Barbara did a nice job with the wavy line quilting.  It was just what I asked for to mirror-without-matching the back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanks to all who followed with patience the construction process and cheered me on when things were not quite exactly right.   I might have done it without you, but I would have been less cheerful.  I appreciate your support.

22 thoughts on “Fancy Forest Finished

  1. What a wonderful quilt. After he grows out of it….it could still be hung up.

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  2. Yes, I agree. A lovely forever gift. Enjoyed watching its construction from beginning to end. Thank you for sharing!

  3. I loved watching this quilt come together and I do like your colour placement of the animals. A great ‘forever’ gift 🙂

  4. It’s a terrific finish. I’m glad you got good pictures before mailing it. Your quilter did do a very nice job. A quilt for a little one to treasure.

  5. Love the final results of your quilt. I enjoyed watching the bits and pieces come together. Beautiful quilt and beautiful sewing. Well done. Cheers and happy sewing, Michele

  6. Hi,

    Followed your progress on the animals, and was longing for the pattern also. Bought it Friday at the AQS in Syracuse. Soon as I get a couple of projects finished, I will also start the project.

    Loisjean

  7. Love it, watching you construct it has been awesome! I’ve done the fox only quilt and it was so much fun….I love how it’s been quilted I think it’s perfect…well done, lucky baby and his parents will be thrilled ;o)

  8. well Deanna, I must admit, it came out so much better than I imagined it would. Sort of wish I had seen the picture of the pattern, but then I would not have been so pleasantly surprised @ the finished prodect. Love that backing fabric. When I watched the progress of each critter, I started to wonder about your sanity, but then, this is the same lady that thrives on working on 5700 tiny squares for one spectacular quilt, why should I question her sanity now. lol My daughter & her boyfriend came by last night to pick up her dog (I puppy sat while they went deep sea fishing for his birthday). Anyway Alex was surprised at seeing me pressing open my 1500 2 1/2 in, now 750 pairs. Guess maybe quilters are a special breed of insanity, in a good way. lol have not started on those 5 in sqs yet, but my plan is mulling away in my brain, but I sleep so well. Talk with you later. Love that little forest = one happy little boy.

    On Mon, Aug 1, 2016 at 4:32 PM, Wedding Dress Blue wrote:

    > weddingdressblue posted: “The Fancy Forest baby quilt came back from the > quilters and I immediately had to get a binding on it. That baby was born > July 5 and he isn’t getting any smaller. This quilty hug needs to be > finished and in the mail as soon as possible. Building it wa” >

  9. That is just beautiful. I did the gigantic Fancy Fox and Hazel blocks and made them into quilts for Humidicrib covers for the local Hospitals Special Care Nursery. Quick to make and will serve a wonderful purpose. Love your smaller blocks.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

