Judge’s Choice

So many of you responded kindly and enthusiastically to the news about my Hundred Patch quilt winning “Judge’s Choice” in a local show.  Thank you.  Like me, some of you wondered just what “Judge’s Choice” means.

I asked around and looked it up and here is a summary of what I have learned:

Judge’s Choice is a special award, sometimes for a specific category and sometimes for an entire show.  Judge’s Choice award is a little difficult to define, but it might be called the “favorite” quilt or “the quilt the judge would most like to take home.”  This is the one award in a judged show where objectivity and reasoned evaluation take a back seat to pure subjectivity. In other words, it might not be a technically perfect quilt, but it is appealing.

Well, now we all know.

6 thoughts on “Judge’s Choice

  1. A well-deserved honor. Nice that you got the recognition. You’ve inspired me to maybe do something similar with the 35 pound box of Christmas scraps I have. Notice I said “maybe”…I’m not sure I have your patience!! Your quilt is lovely and I’m so glad it’s done. Can’t wait to see what you do next.

  2. Yup that’s what it means. We have a national judge in our guild. She doesn’t do it anymore, she is 90 now. But that is what she told me when I asked her. You deserve it. It is a beautifully assembled quilt with big eye catching colors. Who wouldn’t want it? I would. Again congratulations.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

