12 thoughts on “It Was Time

  1. Hi friend! I think that one of the greatest things about reading your blog is that we ALL come away with new information-for example-some folks might now know what to put in the middle of your pot holders. So “yes” to a tutorial or hints. The other great thing about reading your blog is your “humble-ness”. You always make us feel like we could do it too! Thank you so much!

  2. Your potholders look great! I agree with the other commenters that tips would be great. I would love to know what’s inside, and how long can you hold onto something without hurting your fingers.

  3. Yes, I agree with giving hints and tutorials. There are always things to learn and many beginners might not even know where to begin! If you can tear yourself away from your sewing and share your wealth of knowledge I’m sure it would help many.

  4. LOL…perfect timing! Just so happens that I worked on potholders yesterday. I’m making them using animal prints as we are doing a gift exchange for the Safari Club Christmas party this weekend. I’ll bet I’ve made 50 sets through the years since you posted your string potholder tutorial.

  5. Love these! Mine are getting threadbare and worn, even though I added a new backing to them a few years ago. I have others, but love my apple pot holders best :)!

  6. Yes, especially if you use the “thermolam” (the batting with the metal layer in it) type batting. Many tell you to quilt through the “thermolam”, but doesn’t that allow the heat to go all the way through? My thought was to quilt to an all cotton batting for both sides, BUT only sew through the “thermolam” at the binding. Suggestions needed, want to make table runners for the summer that won’t let the heat through from the hot dishes on to the stained picnic tables.

  7. Right this minute, my brain can’t make sense of much of anything it has to create on its own – stress-related – so yes, tell me how to do it, please. LOL

  8. The pot holder has been around for ages. However there is a quilt pattern called POT HOLDER QUILTS. This pattern originated way back during the Civil War. During the war the women in New England, especially Maine, needed something to do. So they got together and used worn out clothing and made pot holders. A few of them got the idea to put them together and make a quilt which gave a lot of warmth. Therefore it was the beginning of the POT HOLDER QUILT.
    Buy the way the pot holders have to be finished just as you would any pot holder. Then you put them together by using the modified ladder stitch. I made a bed rug with mine. It is 6 wide by 19 long. I have a king size bed. But I need to make it a little bigger. That is the beauty of this pattern. You can add on at any time, or take away. Just an idea with the pot holders.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

