Final Countdown: Task One

Every year Shelly of Prairie Moon Quilts hosts a Final Countdown consisting of Three Tasks.  It is a sort of challenge/encouragement to end the year right, prepared and looking forward to a new year of sewing and creating.

This year Task One is

Get your fabric stash under control

This one really isn’t too bad for me.  For the most part, my fabric is under control.  My stash is a manageable side and is sorted in a way that works for me.  Yep, it is all pretty good…

well…

except…

the CORNER.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The CORNER is between my sewing machine cabinet and the set of shelves that houses most of my fabric.

Wow!  Just when I was starting to feel pretty self-satisfied, an honest look in the CORNER reminds me that I do indeed have some work to do in the area of stash management.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First I dug it all out and started to sort.  The contents fell into four categories.

  1. Scraps (which are now sorted by color)OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  2. Planned projects (fabric/pattern together, but not started)
  3. Potential projects (fabric that looks great together and feels like it should be a quilt, but no more than that)OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  4. The binding scraps bag

It is all sorted, bagged and re-piled.  Some was (GASP!) thrown away.  Some will be given away.  Some still needs a little work.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am excited to get to work on a few of those planned projects.  Many of the potential projects are going to be baby quilts, but we are having a run of babies lately, so it is good to have some ready to go.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For now I am calling this a successful task completed.  And the corner looks better.

9 thoughts on “Final Countdown: Task One

  1. Gasp….thrown away….this makes me smile. I have “purged” in the past. Sometimes it is good to get rid of “extra baggage”. Now you know exactly what you have. Sorting fabric is good. While moving it from one place to another, seeing it….touching it, you are more likely to use it because you will remember it!

  2. I have a glass cabinet that I keep all the projects together, pattern, fabric, even thread, etc. Then when I get ready to do one I just grab the stack and it’s all together. This was my daughters idea. Thank you Jody.

  3. I think my entire stash looks like your corner, in spite of the constant organizing I do. Your corner looks great and I love category 3!

  4. Good for you…we still have outta town company/family so its hard to get much done… guess it will wait until next week.  I still have fabric piled on the chair from our “Nativity” re-enactment….. amazing how it can be found… but not necessarily put back. Lol have a happy new year.  Jean

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  5. Oh Wow. I have a whole wall that looks like….the corner..lol. So pleased others have the same. Gave me some great inspiration to get in there and tidy up. Thank you.xx

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

