Final Countdown: Task Two

The thing about the Final Countdown is it makes me take a really good and hard look at myself and my habits.  When Shelly issued Task Two, I again was pretty self satisfied.  “Oh,” I thought to myself, “I really don’t have a problem with that.”

Tackle all the flat surfaces

But then I took that look at my sewing room, and discovered that I DO have a flat-surface-challenge in one area.

First, an explanation.  I am very lucky to have a dedicated sewing space.  I can spread out my projects and leave my machine set up and the ironing board is directly at hand.  In addition, my sewing machine is positioned so I can sit and sew and look out the window into my back yard and see the trees and grass and whatever else is going on.  Really quite lovely.

There are those good parts.  However, my sewing space is also the laundry room and the second guest bedroom.  So, I share the space with the washer and dryer and a bed and dresser and such.  It is a fairly large space, so there is room.

But, that bed is such an inviting and LARGE flat surface…and…I use it to stage projects.

Quite a few projects.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I looked at the bed, I discovered that some things had been thrown there and some had been piled there and some had been (painful to say) sort of abandoned there.  SO, I am evaluating the bed and doing what I can with it.

In the process, it is a great time to create a “Hopes and Dreams” list for 2017.

  1. Tile Works
  2. Howard’s Pillow
  3. Splendid Sampler
  4. Sweet Sixteen
  5. Star Happy
  6. Jeans Quilts for Many
  7. Academy Square
  8. Various Baby Quilts (10)

Now the bed is better.  The whole room is better.  Things are dusted, put away, given away, thrown away.  The Spool Shuffle quilt is hanging on the wall, where I intended it to be, instead of buried in the piles on the bed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am ready for a new year of fun and fabric!

9 thoughts on “Final Countdown: Task Two

  1. Those flat surfaces just beg to be piled on, don’t they? Cleaning them off creates such a feeling of “Ahhhhh” I can’t figure out why I keep repiling. Haha. It’s good to stop once in awhile and just clear the clutter. Happy New Year!

  2. I too am fortunate to have a sewing room. I share it with hubby when he wants to sew. Makes it fun some days. I took 3 days this week and I’m pretty sure I have done all of Shelly’s challenges for these days. Like the quilt on the bed..Plus I finally finished my potholder quilt. 104 6 & 1/2 inch blocks. What a tiring project. Made a bed runner for our king size bed. 1 and done. Don’t want to do another.

  3. And when I come visit, you can just push that middle pile over on the pile next to the wall and I’ll have plenty of space to sleep. LOL Just be careful what you leave out. I can resist anything except temptation. =) Love your progress!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

