Once You Have A Good Idea…

Sometimes projects stall because you need one good idea that you don’t have.  That was the case with Tile Works.  I didn’t know how I was going to finish the top, taking the scrappy blocks and making something that would work. (Excuse, please, difficult indoor photography of a large quilt–76″ x 90″.  There is over 2-feet of snow on the ground here and more falling right now.  Outside is not an option.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then, YAY, the good idea came.  Barbara F. said, “How about a dark brown sashing.”  Why didn’t I think of that?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, with brown sashing, dark red corner stones and a detail in the outer border that reflects the block design, we have a finished top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you so much, particularly to Barbara F., but to all of my wonderful readers-become-friends-I’ve-never-met.  You encourage, cheer, support and help generally.  I am so glad to see this long term project move towards a finished quilt that will bring warmth and color into someone’s life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

ps–People have asked for the pattern, but I can’t give it to you.  It is a 12″ block pattern known as Tile Works #162 from the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks publications.

162 1 100 Blocks Sampler Sew Along   Block 42

It was designed by Monique Dillard of opengatequilts.  Hopefully you will be able to find it and enjoy making something beautiful yourself.

11 thoughts on “Once You Have A Good Idea…

  1. I love this quilt so much it actually brought tears to my eyes. Phew, this has only happened to me 2 other times. I am in love with this block. Beautiful quilt. Lovely work. Wow, I will actually purchase this pattern to make for my own bed. Again WOW!

  2. Great solution. Somehow, if you want a bigger outer border, your carpet color looks great … at least in the pictures. I don’t think it should, but it does!

  3. The dark brown sashing is a winner! It looks great with your colors and really makes each block stand out. I like the red cornerstones too! Great quilt.

  4. The block pattern is wonderful, enhanced by your color choices for each block and all together. The brown brings them all together into a beautiful, cohesive top. Gorgeous!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

