Batik Hollow Finished

In looking back through my records, it appears I started this quilt sometime in early-to-mid 2011.  I have no pictures of the first iteration.  It was ugly.  The second idea came from Kim Brackett’s Scrap Basket Sensations book.  I really liked the design, but it was still ugly.  Maybe not ugly to other people, but ugly to me.  How could I finish an ugly quilt?

DSC00289

Well, I couldn’t finish an ugly quilt, but this isn’t an ugly quilt any more.

Bright colors helped.

DSC00291

The perfect back helped.  The quilting helped.

DSC00293

It’s all good and it’s all done.

ps–I am sorry to say that I cannot tell you what that perfect backing fabric is.  It came in a hand-me-down box and I loved it when I first saw it, but wondered how I would ever use it.  Then this quilt happened.  Some things are just meant to be, I guess.

9 thoughts on “Batik Hollow Finished

  1. Some things ARE meant to be. It is definitely not ugly now. In fact, I like it quite a lot. I hope you are keeping it for when I come to visit. LOL

  2. Nothing like making a silk purse out of a sow’s ear. Whatever you did to make the quilt beautiful to you was worth the effort. It all goes together well.

  3. When you finished that top, there’s no telling how long it would take you to find a backing fabric that goes as well as this one does. Excellent choice. Gives me great hope for some of the odd ball looking pieces that I’ve kept over the years, simply because I loved them, even having no definite plan for their use. I will someday, find or make the perfect pairing, as you have here. Great job, Dear.

  4. This is sensational!! Super gorgeous – worth the wait to finish, but also shows your creative mind to find this solution – over time :)! (Reminds me a bit of the Ugly Duckling story that turned into a swan – always my favorite story)!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

