Sweet Sixteen Assembled

Sweet Sixteen has been a work in progress, my primary leader-ender, since February 2016.

DSC00450

Now it is an assembled top.

DSC00453

The color movement isn’t perfect, but I think it is interesting enough.  It started with scappy 2″ squares and is a total of 168 sixteen patch blocks made up of 8 colored squares and 8 background squares. The top measures 72″ x 84″. Total pieces:  2688.

DSC00454

Most of the fabrics are unique (thank you, quilty friends, who share their scrap bags with me).  I am sure there are at least 1200 different novelties, prints, tonals and solids represented.

DSC00460

Yep, I might be a little obsessive, but once I had the idea in my head I had to build it to see how it would turn out. And, now we all know.

 

22 thoughts on “Sweet Sixteen Assembled

  1. I love it! Your color placement keeps the eye moving all around the quilt. The leaders and enders help make a huge project like this manageable but I think I would be in a padded room after completing this one. Great job.

  2. I love it! You are so amazing , taking all that time ,love and energy to make something beautiful. This quilt is beautiful . Now I want to get started on one.

  3. I love the cheerful colors, and that your or my eye can follow the colors around; it turned out pretty and pleasing to the eyes!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

