A New Leader-Ender

Since finishing the Sweet Sixteen top, I have been contemplating my next leader-ender idea. To qualify (for me) it needs to use small squares (mostly), use a lot of pieces, and be mostly repetitive.

Well, I believe I have found the idea.  I call it Irish Stars.

DSC00536

It is a triple Irish chain alternating with a sort of floating star block.  You can’t see the pattern very well yet, but with a few more blocks the “chain” effect should show up more strongly.

Maybe I have found two ideas.  Is anyone interested in leader-ender-ing along with me?  I don’t mean a specific number of blocks in a specific period of time.  For some of you it might be your first leader-ender.  Some will make many blocks and a large quilt.  Some will make smaller blocks.  We could do it using either 1-1/2″, 2″, or 2-1/2″ squares.

Mine uses 1-1/2″ squares, but I might not be right in the head.

Anyway, think about it, let me know, and maybe we’ll start officially sometime next week or so.  I’ll need to write block tutorials and such and you’ll need to start gathering (and maybe cutting) scraps.

What do you think?

44 thoughts on “A New Leader-Ender

  1. Is there a suggested time limit, my summers are pretty busy with family events, but I would love to do this project.

  2. Oh my goodness!!! I love your quilty ideas/patterns and have made some. Now it’s time for me to join in and do one with you. I’ll either be using 1 1/2″ or 2 1/2″ ……..or both. 🙂 Can’t wait to get started!

  3. This is awesome. I have so much novelty, Halloween, amd Christmas fabric and this quilt would be just the quilt to use up the fabric and scraps
    Thank you

  4. Yes, I just found your website, like some of the patterns and last night started cutting
    2 1/2″ squares. So, a leader- ender project would be good for me!

  5. Hmm! Thinking about it. Hubby not well. But I love all the colors. I’ll keep watching and who knows, maybe I’ll find the time to do a small one for a crib.

  6. Looks interesting, always wanted to do a scrappy Irish chain the stars give it a punch. Would scrappy stars be to much?

  7. I’m interested in this project. I’d like either 2″ pr 2-1/2″ squares. But I can adapt the pattern to Suit my scraps. JudyFry

    Sent from My iPad

    >

  8. I would love to do this…my first leader and ender…I am tired of wasting my thread…I would like the smaller blocks…or 2″…my scraps are tiny and I still have squares left from Calico rose.

  9. I’m in. I have been making wonky stars from 2″ squares and wonder if these could be the centers Stars. They are color stars on white. If not, I would go with 2 1/2″ squares.

    1. I am not sure…If the stars are already finished they might not fit between the squares in the corner that complete the chain for the alternating blocks…we’ll see what you think once you see the directions.

  10. I’m in! I have made SO many scrap quilts this last year or so but still have lots of 2″ squares! I like the stars, adds a lot!

    1. Good question! The answer is “it depends”. On blocks that are all small squares, I press to one side so the seams interlock. On the star blocks, or similar situations, I use a mix of techniques depending on how the seams will lay in the end.

  11. You can do 1 1-2 inch but I’ll stick to 2 1/2 inch. I’ve learned my lesson! 2 1/2 gets done. I hope you will instructions for the 2 1/2 ” size! I love the stars… what about a maple leaf in the middle?

      1. Hurrah! and thanks for all the inspiration… I’ve been away, on a bicycle holiday, and am looking forward to getting back to my sewing spot!

  12. For the past month or so I have been thinking of making a double Irish chain with a star in the blank space for my DGS when he gets married ( he has had a steady girl for the past 2 years now, but no wedding talk as of yet) so I thought I had better get started on his wedding quilt. Will follow along as time permits, looking forward to all the fun.

  13. How fun! I used your Film at Five as my leaders and enders project last year. It’s being quilted now. Whoot! Thank you for a new leaders and enders project.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

