Sampler Top With Borders

YAY!  All of your good advice paid off…I knew I was asking the right people.

DSC00561

Here is my Sort-Of-Splendid-Sampler top finished.  It is amazing to me what a difference the borders made in this case.  It is even more obvious when you look at the “before” and “after” pictures side by side.

Even though the colors and prints aren’t what I normally choose, I really love the finish.  And the size is better, too:  65″ x 77″.

DSC00562

Over the past year many of my quilts have been out of my former comfort zone–either the pattern or the colors or something.  But, you know what, I am feeling more energized and interested in quilting than ever.  Hmmm…maybe they have something to do with each other. 🙂

19 thoughts on “Sampler Top With Borders

  1. Great job! What a difference putting your own spin on it makes! I love it. And the borders make all the difference, too.

  2. I LOVE your border (s) choice. When you asked for ideas awhile back I was stumped… great choice!

  3. You’re absolutely right that your quilt looks a lot better with the borders. It’s perfect!
    Personally, I’ve found that I always do better with what I call “Border Patrol” when I consult others. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve run out of steam and just want to be finished by the time I get to borders or what the reason is. But I always get good advice which improves my quilt when I let others – usually from my guild at a quilt retreat – look at my top and help audition fabrics and suggest borders for it. Sometimes it’s just the colors I never would’ve thought of myself, sometimes it’s picking a totally different type of fabric – I would’ve used a solid and somebody suggests a print – sometimes it’s the number or type of borders, simple versus pieced. But regardless it is always an improvement over what my plan or instinct was; and I don’t otherwise have an poor sense of design or use of color. I’m perfectly capable of designing and putting together the entire rest of my quilt!

  4. The borders you chose make all the difference and really set off this quilt beautifully!! Amazing what getting out of our box will do for us, right?

  5. I love how you unified the blocks with the black and white alternate blocks that create that beautiful diagonal. I think one of the reasons I don’t do sampler quilts is because they look so dis-unified to me. I must remember this quilt if ever I decide to do a sampler quilt.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

