Refashion Runway: Plaid

Refashion Runway Season Two is underway,  and the challenge is plaid.

Refashion Runway Season Two3

Emma, a baby of my acquaintance, needed a new outfit and I had this shirt that came in a hand me down bag, but it didn’t quite fit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Please, can’t you do something about this?

She might have a point, it is a little big.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to alter-with-scissors. I liked the idea of a short play dress using the front of the shirt for the back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The yoke became the bodice,  and the back of the shirt became the front of the dress.  Using the natural cut of the shirt gave a nice curved shape to the skirt. It seemed a bit plain, so I dug through my big pile of junk (odds and ends that I keep in a dresser drawer) and came up with eyelet.  A sweet, feminine touch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, Emma, what do you think now?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Time for the runway!

She likes it!  And that is what matters.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Refashioning is FUN!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can visit the Renegade Seamstress to see the other plaid refashions and, if you like, to VOTE on your favorite.  I am off to address the next challenge–Emerald Green.

14 thoughts on “Refashion Runway: Plaid

  1. That is so adorable! Great job. Love the plaid on that shirt, so I’m glad you could recycle it into this adorable dress, and I’m guessing some quilting squares!

  2. how darling!!! I love it and the model is as cute as can be…you are so clever …I can hardly wait to see the Emerald Green challenge..it can’t possibly be any cuter than this one!!!!!

  3. Hmm. yup I like it. think how much money these young mother’s would save if they did that with dad’s old shirts? Food for thought.

  4. Holy Cow!! Using the front for the back is “shear” genius! It’s always a great day when I learn something new and this tidbit will have some amazingly cute results. Thank You!!

  5. What a sweet outfit! And your model is such a cutie 🙂 This is a great way to refashion a man’s shirt and help out the clothing budget.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

