Indi-go Tote

This project came from the book Reinvention, which I borrowed from the local library.

 

I was so excited to give it a try. I still have a lot of my father’s old jeans that my mother saved for years.  And, I am happy with the results.

BUT, it was not without trial.  I don’t know about the rest of the patterns in the book, but this one had numerous errors.  The measurements were off both in cutting directions and finished sizes of components in at least 4 places.

That is too bad, because it is a great idea, but beware if you decide to give it a go.  That said, I may make another one at some point because it is super cool and quite useful.  I gifted it to a new teacher at our school who needed a better way to haul stuff around.  She seems quite pleased.

4 thoughts on “Indi-go Tote

  1. It looks wonderful! I may see if I can invent a similar pattern, because I have a ton of jeans here from when I was going to make a camping quilt. I’ve used some on a child’s quilt, and still have a pile of them. I don’t want to throw them out, but I don’t want to make the camping quilt any more, either. =)

  2. I hauled my denim stash out of the closet and am determined to use it up….now it sits scowling at me waiting for me to get to work. Totebags in denim are a nice way to whittle down the pile.

  3. Thank you Deanna for the book idea. I will order it from my library. I have never made a bag from a pattern. I probably would have been grumpy with so many errors in the book.
    I have made several bags just on my own. I know you can do that too. We have special brains. Anyway, I love the result of the second purse. Very sweet.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.