Quilty Christmas Present

I was so surprised to open this present at Christmas

While recovering from Covid, I had a lot of reading and resting time. Finished the entire thing.

And learned a lot.

Somehow I thought that most old quilts weren’t very big. False. There are many quilts more than 200 years old that are more than 100-inches square.

Somehow I thought that handquilting in the past was mostly utilitarian. False. Handquilting has been decorative and elaborate in patterns that rival the most adept contemporary longarm designs.

Somehow I thought that old quilts were all handmade. False. They used machines whenever they had them, for quilting as well as piecing.

And the book is just plain beautiful.

Great quilty Christmas. I really enjoyed it and will use it for reference, inspiration and pleasure for years to come.

5 thoughts on “Quilty Christmas Present

  1. What a fabulous present. I’m leaning on the historical side – Barbara Brackman has pointed the way in lots of different directions and it has been an interesting journey.

  2. It is a great book! I’m glad you had time to read it, but wish it hadn’t been Covid time! I have quite a collection of beautiful old quilts from the 1800s through about 1950. They are so soft and wonderful. And big and beautiful. =)

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.