TUTORIAL: Growing Up Odd Quilt

One, three, five, seven, nine…all those numbers are in there.  I guess we all grow up a little odd one way or another, but this quilt is just full of odd numbers.  Hopefully, it will be a charming sort of odd that you will enjoy as much as I have.

GROWING UP ODD

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

90″ x 90″

MATERIALS

Approximately 2500 2″ squares cut from all the scraps you can find.  The exact number is 2425, but who’s counting?

3-1/4 yards background fabric

backing (7 yards)

batting (at least 100″ square)

binding (3/4 yard, if you use 2-1/4″ width)

CUTTING DIRECTIONS

Well, by the time you get to this point you will already have done the hard part and cut all those little squares.  By the way, you have just saved 6-3/4 yards of fabric from waste.  Don’t you feel thrifty and clever?!

Background fabric–

1. to build the blocks you need 75 2″x5″ rectangles, 25 2″x2″ squares, 50 2″x11″ rectangles.

2. to build the sashing you need 40 2″x17″ rectangles, 16 2″x2″ squares.

3. to build the borders you need 2 2″x87-1/2″ rectangles (made using  2″ WOF, joined), and 2 2″x90-1/2″ rectangles (made using  2″  WOF, joined).

CONSTRUCTION

1. Using the 2″ scrap squares, build 75 9-patches.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Using the 2″ scrap squares, build 25 blocks 3-by-7 (21 squares each).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. Using the 2″ scrap squares, build 25 bocks 7-by-7 (49 squares each).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Assemble into larger blocks.  You need 3 9-patches, 1 3-by-7 patch, 1 7-by-7 patch.  Also, background fabric:  3 2″x5″ rectangles, 1 2″x2″ square, 2 2″x11″ rectangles.  Lay out as shown.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I assemble the row of 9 patches first, then the sashing row, then the larger blocks with sashing.  Then sew my three “rows” together.  Press.  A lot. You won’t regret it.

5. Repeat step four a total of 25 times.

6. Lay out the assembled blocks.  I rotated each block 90-degrees right compared to the one next to it.  It gives is a sort of cobblestone look.  I like the variation. This isn’t a hard-and-fast rule.   Just play around until you like the look of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. While that rests and you make adjustments every time you walk by, make the sashing between the blocks.  You will use 5 2″x17″ rectangles and 16 2″ squares.  Alternate the rectangles and squares.  Repeat four times to create the strips that will go between the rows.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8. Using the remainder of the 2″x17″ rectangles, assemble the block rows.  Each row will alternate five blocks and four rectangles.  More pressing!

9.  Sew the rows and strips together to make the body of the quilt.

10.  Add the border by attaching the 2″x87-1/2″ rectangles to the sides and the 2″x90-1/2″ rectangles to the top and bottom and pressing a lot more.  You have an assembled top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8. Sandwich, quilt, bind and label as desired.

NOTE: I was in such a rush to share this with you that I haven’t completed those steps yet, but will update once the job is complete.

9. Ta-dah!  You have completed a Growing Up Odd Quilt.  Yay you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

GROWING UP ODD GALLERY

Maxine made this beauty for her great-nephew.

DSCN6256

Mary in Michigan finished this lovely top.

Growing Up Odd q 001

…your beautiful creation HERE!

38 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: Growing Up Odd Quilt

  1. Love this quilt—–must take the prize for most squares used in one quilt. Beautiful.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. i love it…will start sewing the blocks together as leader/enders on another quilt i am finishing up…will see if i have enough for the sashing and borders…i think i do…thanks for the tutorial…

  3. I LOVE that top! It looks so pretty hanging out like that. Even a small one for babies would be great. Thanks for all the work you put into making a great tutorial!

  4. This quilt is just like the rest of your projects – FANTASTIC! Thank you for sharing your wonderful ideas!

  5. Thank you for another great tutorial. 2″ square?, not my preferred size. But why not. I might just give it a try. I LOVE the quilt, so I will have to start cutting 2″ squares as well as my normal sizes I cut with my scraps.

  6. That is an absolutely beautiful quilt.! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by to visit tonight. Those flying geese units you saw on my World of Small Stars finish at 0.75″ x 1.5″ — yikes! 🙂

  7. I really like this quilt and have bookmarked the tute. Thanks for sharing! I see myself strip piecing using some scrappy strips I have a large box of.

  8. Well I did it. What a marathon. I finished my top yesterday only doing 4 x 4 block layout. I started on Sunday after cutting late last week. I just love it. Thank you so much. I have been piecing leftover squares into quilted bags. I have enough squares left to make 33 nine patch blocks which I may incorporate into the back. Along with a full block which I was sure I had made and couldn’t find it. I thought I mustn’t have made it and made another. And of course as soon as I did that I found it.

  9. Must you use a square with the long sashing? I’m thinking….one less peice to match.Lazy, eh? I ,too, love your scrappie tutorials. Thanks so much.

  10. Started this yesterday with two students that have never sewn before..quite an experience for them..they are now over the fear of the rotary cutters and the sewing machine..thank you for posting this quilt..

  11. Love this quilt, my friend made 2 with 2″ squares, I made mine with 2 1/2″ squares…not recommended unless you need a ginormous quilt. They all turned out really well, my friend made one with white background and one with muslin. The one with muslin background looks very soft and old fashioned looking..all are gorgeous.

  12. I have started the process of sewing all my scraps together. I am doing 2.5 inch squares but will do 3 blocks across and 4 blocks long. I was wondering if that little single 2 inch block is necessary in the sashing or could I not just use one long strip….of course my sashing strips are all 2.5 inches wide. It looks amazing and I can’t wait to sew them together.

    1. Your quilt sounds beautiful. Hmmm…maybe I will have to try a 2-1/2″ version, too…

      The little squares in the sashing helps to make the blocks really line up precisely. When I am working on a small scale and with exact squares, I like the overall look to be equally exact You might try sewing one strip together with a long piece and see how it looks to you and then decide if you feel the small blocks are necessary. Let me know what you decide, please.

  13. Thank you for this tutorial. I just finished a colorful quilt of Growing Up Odd blocks and posted a picture on my blog sewcookandtravel.blogspot.com.
    My granddaughter wants it : )

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.