Another Scrap Project: Binding

I have a bag (upper left of picture) that I have used to store batting scraps for a long time. I would, from time to time, use some of the scraps, but they definitely accumulated faster than they were used. Then, Daughter started her scrappy sewing group, and more scraps came in.

One day she declared that “It was time.”

We dumped out all the scraps and sorted them by color.

Then, assembled them into prepared binding and wrapped those around bolt boards, pinned and labeled with their length. Amazing how much more we are inclined to use them since they are organized and look so nice!

And, it is a good use of fabric! On the boards right now there is about 8065 inched of binding. That is about 672 feet, or two American football fields, with a field goal left over (224 yards). About 12.6 yards of uncut fabric. Totally worth the time to organize and put it together.

16 thoughts on “Another Scrap Project: Binding

  1. Wow! I like the binding wrapped on the fabric boards! I enjoy your posts. I have made the 100 Hugs quilt design for several babies. Thank you!

  2. Great idea, thanks for sharing! I’d love to see what you do with other scraps of fabric pieces. Less than 1/4 yd.

  3. What a great idea! I already have the boards for my FQ and binding strips are shoved into two containers. Time to attack these!

  4. great way to store them. I’ve used up a lot of my binding scraps on two -shirt quilts this fall………..and made a dent in the bags of binding but haven’t used all of them.

  5. Nice idea, but I never have that much binding left over, any I do have I usually cut into squares, but will remember your post if I ever do have enough left over.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.