Second Chances Quilt: 9-Patch Batch

I inherited a pile of 9-patch blocks. Sort of I-Spy style. Maybe a block exchange?

The point is that they deserved better than the trash. But, just joining them together would make a quilt that was too busy and too small. (Sorry for not enough pictures. I don’t know where they went…there are many mysteries.)

The solution was to add quarter square setting blocks. Using solids adds a unifying factor and keeps from adding to the busy-ness of the 9-patch blocks.

The 9-patches are based on 2-1/2″ squares, so the blocks finish at 6″. The quarter square blocks start as 7-1/2″ squares.

The quilt finishes at 54″ x 66″. It goes into the donation pile for the local children’s hospital.

5 thoughts on “Second Chances Quilt: 9-Patch Batch

  1. That is a great layout idea! I have a ton of small Hourglass blocks, but hadn’t considered putting them together with 9-patch blocks. Awesome – thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Several weeks ago I found a stack of 6″-9 Patch blocks but didn’t know what to do with them. I see a 9 Patch/hourglass quilt happening. Thanks for the inspiration!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.