Not My Style, And That’s The Point

Sometimes I am given scraps, or even a partially finished quilt, that just isn’t my style. But, it is an opportunity.

It pushes my creativity, design skills and problem solving abilities. It makes me a beginner again. It makes me learn.

Sometimes a not-my-style quilt is just what I need.

ps–Judy asks a good question: What was I actually given? AGAIN, I didn’t take a picture of the starting point. But, there were a few pinwheels finished, with a dark purple strip sewn to one side. There were several sets of squares (light purple and background) sewn together all the way around, ready to cut on the diagonal, trim and sew together into pinwheels. There was extra yardage of both purple fabrics. And a few odds and ends of both colors.

13 thoughts on “Not My Style, And That’s The Point

  1. As long as the project is not overly long and complicated, it is worth the stretch. If it interferes in a big way what you need to do, I pass. I learned this the hard way.

  2. I like making pinwheel quilts, but never look forward to matching points between the pinwheel blocks. I will definitely make my next one like this!!!
    Thank you for sharing!

  3. This is oddly very, very cool. And not to imply it is odd but rather delightful in a way I can’t quite put my finger on. I’m sorry we can’t see where it began but where it has finished is fab. Nice job saving this from UFO status. Is it returning to the giver as a ta-da or do you have other plans for it?! ~smile~ Roseanne

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.