Two And Four Quiltalong: Cutting Directions

Have you got your scraps gathered? YAY! Let’s get going!

These directions are for a quilt finishing at approximately 60″ x 80″. Useful on a twin size bed, as a throw or couch quilt, or as a donation quilt. Or, you can make it exclusively because it is beautiful and makes you happy. That might be the best reason of all.

  1. Divide your scraps into two piles: Colored and Background. My Colored is all red/blue. My Background is cream or coordinating low volume prints.

TIP: Generally, when cutting scraps, cut the largest piece you can/need first, then work down to smaller ones.

2. From the Colored fabrics, cut 160 2-1/2″x4-1/2″ rectangles. Also from the Colored fabrics, cut 280 2-1/2″x2-1/2″ squares. NOTE: It is nice to have some kind of color balance, but several possibilities will work. On Katy’s original quilt she cut all the rectangles from blue and all the squares from red. I am mixing my colors to match the fabric I had available. You can use more colors if you like.

3. From the Background fabrics, cut 160 2-1/2″x4-/2″ rectangles. Also from the Background fabrics, cut 280 2-1/2″x2-1/2″ squares.

4. Look at what you have accomplished and feel really great about it.

Thank you for quilting along with us. Visit Katy to see her progress on the quilt she is building. It is a similar size but uses larger pieces. Goodness, you might have enough scraps to do both! Now, that would be fun!

We’ll be back on September 7 with the first stitching step. Feel free to ask questions between now and then. See you soon!

6 thoughts on “Two And Four Quiltalong: Cutting Directions

  1. August 24th Two and four Quiltalong cutting directions. Number 2 states cut 160 2-1/2 x 4-/2 rectangles. Number 3 states same measurement 2-1/2 x 4-/2 rectangles. I’m sorry just want to confirm the rectangles exact size. I excited and ready to start cutting scrapes. Thanks

  2. I’m in Egypt at present and will return the end of September and am so looking forward to going through my stash for this quilt when i get back to Florida.
    I didn’t quite get the last sew along finished before i left but plan to do so in between updates.
    Yours are the first sew-a-longs that I have participated in because I needed to down size and these are just what I’ve been waiting for. Plus they make me accountable. Thank you!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.