Current WIPs

I haven’t had many finishes lately, partly because I have been busy with the rest of life. But, partly, too, because I have two WIPs (Works in Progress) that can feel like the song that never ends.

The first is a 1-1/2″ version of Film at Five, one of my most popular quilt patterns. The original is based on 2-1/2″ squares and takes 25 blocks to make a nice size quilt. This one will take 100 blocks. I have finished nearly 60.

The second also will need 100 blocks, Mad Dash blocks. I have 63 currently complete. I am working on the tutorial also, but wanted to have a quilt to show with it. 

Quick finishes are nice, but slow finishes are their own satisfaction. Mad Dash should finish first, as Film at Five has pieced sashing. If I can finish an average of two blocks a day for a couple of months, I’ll have that step finished and be able to move towards sashing and assembly. And, eventually, they will both be WIPs no more!

6 thoughts on “Current WIPs

  1. Quilts are that way, they take a lot of time then they are finally finished! We enjoy that high feeling of accomplishment for an hour, maybe longer, then we start the next project. Happy stitching! Have a blessed Christmas with your family and friends!

  2. well, gosh, this is going to be a beauty. I loved looking back at your previous posting and so many shared examples. Deanna as always you are so inspiring!!
    I am grateful for your blog and all of the wonderful things you share. Happy Blessed Christmas to you and yours and best wishes for a grand new year

  3. Have you ever felt emotional when finishing a quilt? I made one out of 2 1/2” squares that has taken me a few months. Today I showed it to my hubby and started to cry.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.