WIP #3: What Really Happened

Well, it turns out that….

  1. I didn’t really make 324 blocks, I made 274.
  2. That is a dumb number of blocks because it doesn’t make a logical number of rows.
  3. I did it because I was running out of background fabric. And, I don’t know for sure what “white” it was and couldn’t match it. (NOTE TO SELF–mark the selvedge of “white” fabrics with color name and manufacturer.)

SO…

  1. I made 14 more 4″ blocks.
  2. The layout is now 8×9 4-patch (sets of four/8″) blocks
  3. The top finishes at 64″ x 72″.
  4. Total number of pieces: 3288
  5. The top is assembled.

I have learned (re-learned)…

  1. Plan background fabric more carefully.
  2. Make notes for myself.
  3. Finished is better than “perfect.”

17 thoughts on “WIP #3: What Really Happened

  1. Congratulations! It is gorgeous and will serve well to brighten someone’s day and keep them warm. I love it! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oh my goodness, this is totally something I would do, with the background fabric! I have done that a few times. I’ve learned to consider the background fabric carefully. Anyway, your quilt turned out beautifully (that’s a serious amount of pieces!!).

  3. Deanna, this quilt is incredible.
    another silly suggestion.
    When you have white fabric and tossed the label, put the pieces you have in a zip bag. label it with the white contents name. I have a lot of white kona.
    I have a container of solids, two actually, dark and light. The light has some bagged fabrics with the important info.
    Good idea labeling the selvage. I like that. I should do that with all incoming solids or fabrics like grunge with their various names.
    I love this quilt. It is super pretty

  4. Ugh, done that with white background fabric too. Mostly I know what I’ve bought but with one, Arkansas Crossroads – very scrappy and white Xs, the white wasn’t as close to each other to notice – thankfully. Dark background colours vary enormously too – I’ve tried matching up a UFO with dark green. Too blue, too grey, too dark, too light and so on!
    With all your hassles, that quilt looks blooming gorgeous Deanna!
    Cheers, Kerry

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.